Barriers to innovation in organisations: teleological processes, organisational structures and stepwise refinement

This video speaks to me on so many levels. It summarises many of the problems I have faced and encountered trying to implement innovative approaches to e-learning at universities over the last 15 plus year. I’m sure I am not alone.

Today, I’ve spent a lot of time not directly related to what I wanted to achieve. Consequently, I had planned not to do or look at anything else until I’d finished. But this video resonates so strongly that I couldn’t resist watching, downloading it and blogging it.

I came across the video from a post by Punya Mishra. Some more on this after the video. I should also link to the blog post on the OpenNASA site. Would your University/organisation produce something similar?

If Nona ever gets around to watching this video, I am sure she will see me in a slightly different role in the video. Until recently I had the misfortune to be in the naysayer role. That’s no longer the case. Who said no good could come of organisational restructures?

Barriers to innovation and inclusion

The benefits of being open

Coming across this video, provides further evidence to support an earlier post I made today on the values of being open. I became aware of Punya’s post because of the following process:

  • Almost a year ago Punya published this post on his blog that openly shares the video of a keynote he and Mat Koehler gave.
  • I came across it not long afterwards through my interest in TPACK (formerly known as TPCK).
  • About two weeks ago I decided to use part of the video in some sessions I was running on course analysis and design.
  • A couple of days ago I blogged on an important part of the presentation (not used in the sessions I ran) that resonated with my PhD work.
  • My blog software told Punya’s blog software about my post and added it as a comment to his blog.
  • This afternoon Google Alerts sent me an email that this page on Punya’s blog was linking to my blog (because of the comment – see the comments section in the right hand menu).
  • Out of interest (some might say in the interest of procrastination) I followed the link and saw the video.

I plan to use parts of this video in future presentations around my PhD research. I believe it will resonate with people so much better than me simply describing the abstract principles.

So while not directly contributing to what I wanted to do today. It’s provided with a great advantage in the future.

of a Google Alert I have set on my site. Google emailed me to say that Punya had made this post because his blog software includes a list of the

I’ve spent a lot of time today doing stuff not necessarily directly related to what I wanted to achieve today. To such an extent I’d decided not to blog anymore.

One thought on “Barriers to innovation in organisations: teleological processes, organisational structures and stepwise refinement

  1. Pingback: It’s always easier to say sorry than to ask for permission « The Weblog of (a) David Jones

Leave a Reply

