First official BAM paper done

BAM – Blog Aggregation Management is a project I started in early 2006 to play around with two sets of ideas:

  1. learning; and
    Building on some ideas of using blogs for individual student reflective journals in an attempt to increase the visibility of their progress and enable increased levels of student/teacher interaction.
  2. technical.
    Extending one of the initial ideas of Webfuse (“maximise adaptability by concentrating on providing the infrastructure required to integrate existing and yet to be developed online learning tools”) into the wonderful world of Web 2.0.

The initial experiment in the second half of 2006 has been the topic of a report for a website and some blog posts. However, late last year Jo and I submitted a paper to EdMedia’2009. It was accepted, but I or the reviewers were not entirely happy with the paper, so some changes have been made.

Consequently, the next to final version of the paper is now available. It’s better than the version that was accepted, but still not great. At least it tells the story with a bit of reflection.

Not a great paper but it’s one of two Jo will present in Hawaii.

As for the future of BAM, that all depends on what’s happening with work. At the very least BAM is taking a back seat to the PhD, for a while.

3 thoughts on “First official BAM paper done

  1. Pingback: PhD Update #9 - spluttering out of steam « The Weblog of (a) David Jones

  2. maijann

    Hi David, I’ve been reading your blogg with interest. I’m doing a Master of Arts in e-learning in Sydney. Actually not really interested in BAM – I was reading your ideas re Convery 2009 – Journal of teachers and teaching. I’m doing two subjects this semester in e-learning. So it’s new to me. Did you read gseiemens blog site – he suggests New Criteria for New Media – http://www.elearnspace.org/blog/ and also expressed concerns about ‘leveraging of the human network’. Anyway – I was amused with the idea of ‘pedagogy of the impressed’ – Convery. I’m just new to this field as mentioned and I’m trying to reconcile – notions of ‘learning object affordances’ with things I’m reading in the Journal of Learning Design QUT publication – for example: the keynote article on ‘Unlearning pedagogy’.
    I seem to be reading articles that are critical about inequities within societies on the one hand and at the same time authors are using language that arises from entirely different models. For example, Montesano et al on Learning object affordances: ‘we demonstrate successful learning in the real world by having an humanoid robot interacting with objects etc. Some other people I;ve met seem to have formed the view that things are quite clear cut. However, I have the impression that perhaps some e-learning visionaries are using the language of cognitive science/robotics and ….we jsut may not be very clear about precisley what we are proposing? Maijann http://maija30.edublogs.org Also there was a little glitche I think when I was trying to find your blog address and I think you could be studying at my home town – where I grew up. The Brahmans are a give-away, if so.

    Reply
    1. davidtjones Post author

      G’day Maijann,

      Am glad you’re finding the blog interesting. I must admit that my connection with e-learning is mostly associated with how to design/support the technology used to enable it within universities. I’m not directly researching/thinking about the pedagogical side of things, though it is important and I have learned somethings.

      One of the conclusions I’ve reached in my work is that there isn’t a lot of clarity to be gained with any certainty around how to understand learning and teaching. Mainly because there are so many perspectives. There’s always another one. Which does make it interesting as to what is being discussed.

      As for location, I am based in the “cattle capital of Australia” and we actually run a few head ourselves.

      David.

Leave a Reply

