Turning point 2.0

Almost a year ago I blogged about a turning point in my formal work life. I’d finished a draft of the PhD and had been accepted into a pre-service teacher graduate diploma. A year on and there is another turning point. Tomorrow is the last day of my teaching internship, if my eportfolio passes I will become eligible for provisional registration with the Queensland College of Teachers to teach high school Information Technology and Mathematics. But I won’t be teaching in high schools next year.

A few weeks ago I was offered a position within the Faculty of Education at the University of Southern Queensland (USQ). I start in late January 2012. Much remains uncertain about exactly what I’ll be doing, but it will likely involve teaching courses being taken by pre-service teachers. Most likely something around e-learning/ICTs and perhaps some mathematics, will find out over coming months. In terms of research, I’m hoping/planing to do a lot more around e-learning and much more. I’m looking forward to the challenge. A lot to read, think and do.

In between organising the task of relocating the family to Toowoomba, I am hoping to have the opportunity to blog, tweet, follow, etc a lot more.

4 thoughts on “Turning point 2.0

  1. VRBones

    Congratulations!

    I’m rather selfishly looking forward to more posts, and the Uni environment seemed to elicit a much more stream-of-conscious response than the secondary school sector.

    I’d also be interested in your take of blogging practice in a school environment. Why is it that you couldn’t blog as much? The workload? The covered content? The lack of suitable feedback?

    Reply
    1. davidtjones Post author

      G’day Tony,

      My lack of blogging while at school was a combination of available time and uncertainty about how what could be blogged.

      Since I was doing prac and an internship I didn’t wish to talk too much about experiences that might get associated back to people, especially my mentor teachers.

      Add in having a family, assignments and classes to teach and that doesn’t leave a lot of time.

      Being new to the school context and the content I was teaching – which not difficult it was new – also placed limits on tie.

      Time will stil be a bit of an issue, but I”m currently revisiting a few things I’m familiar with, before embarking on the new stuff next year.

      What about you? You don’t seem to blog much about your teaching, what are the factors?

      David.

  2. VRBones

    > What about you? You don’t seem to blog much about your teaching, what are the factors?

    Time: I did have some time on Fridays that I had set aside for reading / reflection / blogging, but when the choice is between reflecting and marking, there’s unfortunately only one practical answer. As an example, I’m looking down 80 hours of work outstanding that needs to be completed in under 8 days. And teach. This time of the year is particularly bad.

    Covered content: There are many issues that will be left at the school. There is no need to blog about them and may well be unprofessional to do so. Generalising the issues leads to ..

    Lack of suitable feedback: After getting out of the Uni course, the reflections I’ve posted have been mainly to organise external thoughts. There was a large sense of an echo chamber as the ones blogging were the types of people that couldn’t help with immediate issues at school. That said, I have a very good relationship with many staff at the school, and can get virtually instantaneous feedback from anyone in the staffroom. Nights like this where I’m all alone plugging away is when I miss blogging the most.

    Hopefully once I’m finished I’ll try to get some of the ideas down for me to remember in the future.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 1000 blog posts – a time to look back « The Weblog of (a) David Jones

Leave a Reply

