Using resources appropriately

The following is intended to be an example that will be used in the course I’m teaching. It’s meant to demonstrate appropriate ways to reuse resources that have been created in different ways. It’s also an opportunity to explicitly test my understanding. So feel free to correct me.

The idea is that how and if you can use a resource (be it words, audio, video etc) depends on who created the resource, copyright, and any additional conditions that have been applied.

Using a resource I created

The following image is a photo taken by me. I’m the copyright owner, I’m free to use this anyway I like. No need to reference or give attribution.

If I’d taken this image as part of preparing teaching materials for my paid work for the University of Southern Queensland, then I would have to ask their permission to use this image here. As the University (currently) retains copyright ownership on materials produced for teaching purposes.

Eating in the bath

There’s not need to include any attribution on this image, as I own the copyright.

Using a public domain image

The following image – taken from a book from the 1800s – is in the public domain. There are no restrictions on how I (or you) can use this image.

Image from page 363 of "Encyclopédie d'histoire naturelle; ou, traité complet de cette science d'après les travaux des naturalistes les plus éminents de tous les pays et de toutes les époques: Buffon, Daubenton, Lacépède, G. Cuvier, F. Cuvier, Geoffroy Sa

With public domain resources, there’s no need for an attribution, but it would be nice to do.

Using a Creative Commons image

The following image was taken by Daisuke Tashiro. Who has chosen to add to this image this Creative Commons license which allows me to reuse the image as along as a fulfill the conditions of the license, including appropriate attribution of the image.

To properly attribute the image, I make use of the ImageCodr service.

If I were to use the above image without the attribution, just the image itself. I would be breaking the terms of the license.
However, I can currently link to the image without any attribution or breaking any copyright conditions.

Using a copyrighted image

The following image is copyrighted. All rights reserved.  While I can link to this image without breaking copyright. If I embed it in this blog post, I’m likely to get into trouble.

Unless I ask the copyright holder for permission to use the image. As I have known the copyright holder for a long time, I’ve been able to do this quite easily and quickly. However, if you don’t know the copyright holder, obtaining permission may take quite some time, and may not happen at all.

 

Copyright © (2012) Colin Beer – used with permission

If I don’t get permission from the copyright holder, I can’t use this image. Even if I put the nice attribution of the resource, I still can’t use it.

What is that last image about?

The image is a little interesting in the context of the course. It indicates that there is a potential relationship between final grade a student achieves in a course, and the week of term when the student first accesses a course website. i.e. if you access a course website in week 5, you are likely to get a grade lower than students who access the course website earlier.

 

14 thoughts on “Using resources appropriately

  1. Pingback: Copyright and GIFs | The Blog Belonging to Jacqueline

  2. Pingback: Using resources appropriately | 21st Century Sc...

  3. Pingback: Copy’right’ – elly mcculloch

  4. Pingback: Using resources appropriately | Digital Citizen...

  5. Pingback: Using resources appropriately | Teens, Technolo...

  6. Pingback: Copyright…a Dirty Word – Miss Galea's Blog

  7. Pingback: Copyright obligations – Tech-Savvy wannabe

  8. Pingback: Whoops! – nickiegwordpesscom

  9. Pingback: the ins and outs of copyright – forever your champion

  10. Pingback: Breaking the rules | KIM POOLER

  11. Reblogged this on annaakhurst and commented:
    An awesome blog entry to assist with understanding on how to use resources appropriately. Gaining an understanding of copy right and ownership of images and documents relating to ICT has been a hurdle for me to overcome during this semester. This certainly helps!

  12. Pingback: Finding images for blog posts | ICT and Pedagogy

Leave a Reply

